The traveling lines of information

BY DOMINIQUE JAMES

Information does not travel in a straight line. I should have known this fact, but it wasn’t always apparent. Not apparent to me, at least. I mean, there are things we know, but, we really just doesn’t pay attention to it, until such time that it just actually makes sense to begin to really know about it–putting it up front and center. And that’s the time when we pay attention.

If I knew what I know now, maybe things could have been a little different, perhaps even better. And it could be the different and better for others too. But insights doesn’t come so easy. We have to live with all sort sof information first, stir them a little bit, shake them, jiggle them, and bump them all around, before things can actually start making sense. That’s what always happen to me. That’s what happens to a lot of people.

It’s not a matter of being smart, intelligent, or stuff like that. It’s just the way it is, a process of discovery. Something that gets peeled, one onion layer at a time, before a meaning gets revealed. Ever watch Alec Trebeck? The words aren’t apparent at first, and you need more clues, and then all of a sudden, it just comes to you. That’s how information travels. It doesn’t come to us in a straight line.

This is also like the information I want to share with others. I may communicate all the time, but I’m amazed at how much I am not communicating at all. It’s really hard to make an assumption on the things you want others to know. You think they already know, but in reality, they don’t. I mean, not that they really care. But we can’t just assume they know. We have to constantly make it known so that they will know.

It’s quite a tiring process actually, trying to let people know all the time. And even if you provide them venues to know it, you still have to direct them, to let them know. Most of the time, we just assume they will find their way around, and will be able to somehow discover and pick out on their own about some things you want them to know. But that’s not how things work. You have to openly and constantly tell them what you want them to know. You have to endlessly hammer the information. You have to keep repeating yourself. You have to constantly be open to the idea of non-stop sharing.

It took me years to discover this fact. I used to make assumptions, but now, I’m not doing that. I’m way past the point of making an assumption. I mean, I’ve learned my lessons. Or, have I really? I made a resolve to share the message over and over again. And I promise myself I won’t get tired of it. Because, what may be old news to me is, surprisingly, still possibly something new to others.

I mean, look at celebrities, a lot of things are known about them as it is. People talk abou them all the time. They are public figures, and they are always on the news, and there’s always something interesting that’s going on about themselves. And you can’t get enough, and there’s anything you want to know about them, you can easily fish for the information. More often than not, you’d even get to know a whole lot more than what you’ve bargained for. Still, what’s really surprising is that, more often than not, celebrities need to keep repeating. There are gaps. There are things people still don’t know about them. For someone out there, something they may have been saying over and over again, is still new. The magic is in repeating.

Politicians, for example, I wonder how they can bear the fact that they have to say the same things over and over again. In their campaigns, to be able to reach out to as many people as they possibly can, they have to endlessly repeat themselves. In their talks, they have to share information about who they are, what they will do and what they stand for.

It’s a tough job, really. Communicating, on its own, is a difficult and challenging task. You not only have to communicate with those who already know, to make sure to drive home the point, but you also have to communicate with those who may have not heard from you, which means it’s the first time they will be processing the information. And, you have to repeat yourself some more because people forget. Once in a while, a reminder is necessary to maintain a top-of-the-mind level of awareness.

And here’s the real challenge: tell the same message and the same story over and over again in as many ways possible. It takes a little creativity, but the way to relay the message, and to hammer it, is to make sure that they are made aware! You capture their interest by a surprising approach. And who knows, maybe, along the way, they will take that message to heart. And hopefully the message will really stick, and they will remember for a very, very long time.

Not that I’m a politician or a celebrity, but I happen to know it is quite tiring, and actually, really tiresome, to say the same things over and over again. But then again, the fact is that’s just how it is. We can’t do anything about it. We cannot resign to the fact, and go about our merry ways. There are wide gaps in what people know about things, and about you. You cannot just assume. Perhaps the secret to true marketing success is to repeatedly show, share, expose, announce, over and over, so as just to let people know things.

And so, I made a strong resolve. I resolved never to complain about having to repeat things, or, in other words, to evangelize. That’s the only way to let other people know. And I must contend with the fact that, even if they do know, there are some things, you’ll find out, that bears repeating over and over again.

And you know why? Yes, this is because information does not travel in a straight line. So, do you know what I’m saying? Hahaha! Just kidding, of course. But seriously …. what was it again that you wanted to tell me? Hahaha! The fact is, you just have to keep repeating things, and do so in many imaginative ways.

About this entry